Who says?

I keep on reading pieces of advice for writers, as I would love to be one myself, and I keep on getting feelings of panic, worry or even shame from the comments in them.

What comments are these?

The type that say “Good writers shouldn’t worry about whether what they are writing is good” or “Writers don’t worry about the time they have to write something in, or where they start in a piece.”

What I think to that is usually “Well, that must mean I’m not a real writer then…” and I drift into my natural state of insecurity.

But you know what?

am a real writer. I have a passion for it, and I enjoy doing it.

So what if I also happen to be an insecure perfectionist with stress issues? Most people around my age are anyway.

I always dislike generalisations, usually in the context of extroverts thinking they know how people should act or that it’s easy, and this is no different.

If you are the type of person who edits as she goes along, worries about something being good enough, worries about finding the time around something else she loves to do, (I know, shocking that people may have multiple passions or a job they love alongside writing!), then keep on being you.

Keep on doing what you love, and don’t ever let anyone tell you what you are. Only you know that.

I don’t even know you and I think you’re awesome.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

