The Elusive Plot.

So recently I found out who won a writing competition that I had entered and it’s got me thinking.

The winner’s concept sounds really good, (‘The Name on Your Wrist’ by Helen Hiorns if you want to find it.) and so I’ve fallen slightly into the “Well, of course I didn’t get anywhere, my plot was so generic… boring even.” thought patterns.

Now, I get paranoid fairly easily, and I am a known worrier, but still I wonder:

If you never come up with that lucky, new-idea plot, are you doomed to a life of mediocre writing success?

This has lead to me frantically scrambling to write down as many new additions to the plot of my current book as I can.

But can you force a spark of genius?

Should you?

 

People like to say that ‘writing is a craft, it can be learned just like any other skill.’ So, does the probability of our spark happening increase with every year that we write?

Or is success in writing just a plain old mix of natural talent and luck?

Okay, so I asked a lot of questions there and I can’t answer them, not for at least a good number of years.

I’d like to believe that if you’re passionate enough and hard-working enough about something that you are destined to achieve success at some point. So that’s what I’ll leave this post on.

Success is out there. Not just for the lucky, or even in what you expect it to be in, but it will be success somewhere.

At least, it better damn well be.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

