Is Jumping on the bandwagon always a bad thing?

There’s been a surge of people recently taking part in the #nomakeupselfie for cancer research or breast cancer, or whatever cancer they choose to show support for.

But there’s also been a surge in people getting annoyed at it.

Now, I get that people not donating and just posting a beautiful picture of themselves sans make up is not really helping. But all of my friends, and a lot of people I’ve seen, are also donating at least three pounds to the charities of their choice.

I’m not much of an expert, but isn’t a mass donation fad a good thing in anyone’s opinion? I’ve worked at a charity shop before and, as log as it’s not anything illegal, they’re not too bothered how heir charity gets money. Either way it’s getting where it’s needed. Right?

I have just recently ‘jumped on the bandwagon’ as people are calling it and done a no make up selfie for Cancer Research UK. It’s a charity that’s close to me as my Grandma died of cancer on my second birthday. Hence, I usually find some time to give money to the charity at some point. My parents even have a direct debit set up which I hope to do when I have a steady income. Either for Cancer Research or for Babies in Intensive Care, another charity close to me as I wouldn’t be here without the amazing work at my hospital for me and my sister.

But my issue is, why are people so annoyed at this? If you really think the selfie is that self satisfying, then you can just donate and NOT do the selfie, right?

And it doesn’t really matter how people are doing it, as long as donations are getting where they’re needed in my opinion.

Every little helps, as Tesco says… Or used to say. I don’t really keep on top of catchphrases.

So please donate BEAT to 70007 or 70099 or to wherever you think needs it the most. The selfie is absolutely optional.

Thank you.

2 thoughts on “Is Jumping on the bandwagon always a bad thing?

Add yours

  1. I’ve just written a post on the same subject. I think that a huge amount of the backlash was down to the fact people were claiming to “raise awareness” of something we are all already aware of. Then the donations started and it’s been incredible to watch. The selfie part of it is just the motivator, and it’s great that something selfless should come from a selfie for a change.

  2. Tegan, I completely agree. It’s a shame that sometimes the dislike of the new things that the younger generation does overshadows the good that’s done around It. It’s amazing how much money has been raised from this.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

