When does the ‘back up’ become the obligation?

I’ve always wanted to be a writer. I love reading and creating new worlds. It makes me happy. My parents know this.

They also know that, when I chose my degree, I chose a subject that would be more likely to get me a job and I would most likely do well in it. I also happened to like this subject (maths) which was a nice bonus. I knew if I wanted to either be a writer or do maths, or both, that getting a maths degree was the best option.

So now with me coming up to the end of my studies, I’m looking for jobs in the writing sector, or editing maths books, or something that I think would make me happy.

I’m also trying to write a lot on this blog, come up with article ideas so when I have time I can try to get some published, and get myself prepared for writing another book.

But my mum, and other people, are getting really focused on my degree subject. Like I’ll be letting them down if I don’t get a job in mathematics, or finance as is coming up a lot.

Apparently it ‘would be a shame’ if I didn’t use my degree. And I agree. But I’m not going to not use my degree, I want to do some maths. I just also happen to want to write. If I could write maths that would be the dream.

Maths was always sort of there as a back up for my writing. Something I also enjoyed that I could do if my writing never took off.

But when did this back up become the thing I should do with the rest of my life?

I’ve also been told that doing your hobby as a job can make you not like it anymore. But why shouldn’t you take the risk if you think that you might love doing your hobby for the rest of your life?

If there’s any time for taking risks, it’s in your twenties when you’re just starting out. It’s the best time to fall flat on your face, pick yourself up, and keep on going.

What’s the worst that can happen if I throw myself into my writing now? I can still go back to maths, or incorporate it somehow into my life, if it doesn’t work out.

Yes, I do believe that everyone should have some form of qualifications, some back up if what they want to do is risky. But I don’t believe these people should then be told to forget about their dreams and take the safe route without even trying.

My dad says that ‘When you’re starting out, the last thing you should do is settle.’ And I agree.

Get a back up, but then follow your dreams. Then at least you have a safety net. But that’s what it is: a safety net. Hopefully you also enjoy your safety net, then you’ll have the highest chance of having a happy life.

But if you don’t try the risky thing, you’ll never know.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

