‘Why do you write’

So I thought this was going to be another small creative writing prompt from my big book of writing ideas, but instead I randomly opened the page to this. It seemed very existential, but I thought why not, people need to be reminded why they love to do something every now and then.

I write because I love it. I enjoy it. It’s pretty much that simple.

But it’s not really just that. It’s the only thing in my life that I enjoy doing, not because I’m good at it, I could be terrible at it and still love it, but just because it makes me feel happy. Like, smile-at-absolutely-nothing, sitting-in-the-sun-in-the-middle-of-summer happy.

And I don’t want to ever stop.

That’s the good thing about writing: I could do it for the rest of my life. I don’t even need to be successful or earn any money doing it, I just need to still enjoy it.

And why shouldn’t I try to do the thing I love that much as a career? Even a small amount of writing in my job will help getting out of bed on a Monday and coming home happy.

You know you love something when it can relate to everything you do. If I have a particularly vivid and complicated dream I instantly write it down for a good story or short story. If I overhear a conversation, I sometimes think that I could absolutely write that as a conversation between two characters in my book.

And if you have something that makes you that happy, then never stop doing it.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

