Racism happens to everyone.

So first I should apologise profusely for not blogging for what I think is a whole month, or even longer. My life has been a bit full on recently and I’ve also been a bit sad. I’m working at a local pub but it’s making me feel quite low, and I got an interview for an Editorial Assistant position for a magazine that publishes Scientific Research papers and articles and I’m mentally crossing everything that I get it.

So anyway, back to the real point of this post.

I read a tumblr post today that stated:
“Someone calling a white person ‘wonder bread’ isn’t racist. It’s rude, but it’s not racist. Wonder bread as an offensive term has no weight, no meaning. It’s just something to push your buttons. Using the N-word is racist – it has meaning and weight and brings up a past that should’ve never happened. The comparison between rude and racist is like squares and rectangles – every square is a rectangle, but not every rectangle is a square. Every racist comment you hear is rude, but not every rude comment you hear is racist.”
– from an in-class debate about white supremacy (via seehowtame)

And I can see their point that racism towards Black (apologies if that term is racist in itself) or really any “non-White” race is particularly bad as white people in the past have been horrible to pretty much anyone that’s different to them, especially black people.

But we also tend to forget the definition of racism itself which, according to the Oxford English Dictionary, is defined as:
The belief that all members of each race possess characteristics, abilities, or qualities specific to that race, especially so as to distinguish it as inferior or superior to another race or races.
Prejudice, discrimination, or antagonism directed against someone of a different race based on the belief that one’s own race is superior.

So, unless I’m mistaken, racism can be towards anyone, even white people. Not that it would be as bad as the racism that stems from generations of abuse, but it would still be technically racism. Besides, it would just be plain rude no matter who it was directed towards.

Basically, as much as I agree that racism towards other races is terrible, racism towards white people does exist, even in its own minuscule forms, and, if we want to completely eradicate racism towards anyone, we need to completely put a stop to it. That means all of it.

One thought on “Racism happens to everyone.

Add yours

  1. I agree with you 100%. There is a significant increase in racism against white people, and I notice it almost on a daily basis. It doesn’t help that I have blonde hair and get judged off the bat, but terms like “white bread” are derogatory and offensive. If you were to call someone Rye Bread, or Burnt Toast, how would that make them feel? I just hate that it is generally assumed that racism is never against white people.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

